Cycling Tour de France 2010 Part 7

Published by : Steven Even
In part 7 of the Tour the France 2010, 3 stages are covered:

• Stage 17: 22 July - Pau to Col du Tourmalet - 174 km (108 mi) - Mountain stage
• Stage 18: 23 July - Salies-de-Béarn to Bordeaux - 198 km (123 mi) - Flat stage

Enjoy these awesome stages, hit the like button if you like the videos and don't forget to smile :)

The 2010 Tour de France was the 97th edition of the Tour de France cycle race, one of cycling's Grand Tours. It started on 3 July with an 8.9 km prologue time trial in Rotterdam, the first start in the Netherlands since 1996. The race visited three countries: the Netherlands, Belgium and France, and finished on 25 July on the Champs-Élysées in Paris.

The total length was 3,642 kilometres (2,263 mi) including 60.9 kilometres (37.8 mi) in time-trials. Following an opening prologue time trial, the first three stages passed through the Netherlands and Belgium on routes designed to replicate some features of the spring classic cycle races. This included seven cobblestone sectors totaling 13.2 kilometres (8.2 mi), the longest distance of cobblestones in the Tour since 1983, on stage 3.[3] There were six mountain stages, three of them with mountaintop finishes, and two medium mountain stages. In the 100th anniversary year of their first inclusion on the Tour, the emphasis was on the Pyrenees, with two ascents of the Col du Tourmalet.

The Tour was initially won by Alberto Contador, who was later revealed to have failed a doping test. After a series of events, the CAS finally decided in February 2012 that Contador lost his results from 2010, declaring Andy Schleck the new winner. Schleck also won the young riders' competition for the third time running. France's Anthony Charteau won the polkadot jersey as the King of the Mountains whilst the Italian sprinter Alessandro Petacchi won the green jersey for victory in the points classification.

The official Tour presentation was held on 14 October 2009. It was the third consecutive Grand Tour to begin in the Netherlands, as the 2009 Vuelta a España began in Assen, and the 2010 Giro d'Italia in Amsterdam.
cached video

Alberto Contador Col du Tourmalet Andy Schleck Anthony Charteau Alessandro Petacchi Thor Hushovd Sylvain Chavanel Fabian Cancellara Jérôme Pineau Team RadioShack Mark Cavendish Thomas Voeckler tour de france tdf Cycling Tour de France 2010 Ax 3 Domaines Saint-Jean-de-Maurienne sky